Where the Wild Things Are!

This has been the week for wildlife. In the past few days the girls have caught a wren that somehow managed to get into their bedroom?, a Indigo Bunting that went bump against the kitchen window and was stunned, a Northern Ringneck snake, a Garter snake, 3 toads, a frog, a lizard, and 7 snapping turtles between the size of a quarter to the size of a silver dollar. They’ve been having a blast!

Hannah and the wren.

The Indigo Bunting.Beautiful! And so tiny. It perched on my finger for a bit while it was recovering and finally flew away when Michelle tried to get it to sit on her shoulder.

Hannah’s ringneck snake. Very tame.

Baby snapping turtles. Really cute but then they grow up!

Michael repairing rabbit cages. Time to breed! I’ll breed the first doe tomorrow and then one about every four weeks.

We also have a black and white doe and buck.

And last but not least four pretty braids!

Well it’s WAY past my bedtime. One more day of school this week and we’ll be mostly finished up by the end of next week. YEA!!!

Night all and God bless!

5 thoughts on “Where the Wild Things Are!

  1. Bekah says:

    Hello, I just came across your blog from a comment you left at A Godly Homemaker. I have enjoyed seeing the pictures of the critters your children caught. I remember going out and catching ring neck snakes, box turtles, frogs, and all kinds of insects not only for fun but as science projects as well (I’m a homeschool graduate myself). I look forward to reading about your homesteading journey as that is the life I feel that God is leading me toward.
    God bless!
    Bekah

    • Thanks for stopping by. I’m glad you enjoyed the pics. We’ve been homeschooling two years now. I pray God’s blessings on you as you follow His leading in your life. It can be a hard life but it is SO worth the struggles because the blessings are abundant.

  2. Bekah says:

    Oh! By the way have a Happy Mother’s Day!

    Bekah

  3. Gwynn says:

    The kids are getting soooo big! Much love to you all.
    Gwynn

Leave a Reply

