Making Mayonnaise

If you haven’t tried making your own Mayo yet, you should! It’s very easy and is so much better than anything you can buy. You also don’t have to worry about what ingredients are in it. You can use a food processor or a blender. I use a blender. This recipe makes about one pint of mayo. For best results have items at room temperature. You don’t have to use exact measurements. It’s pretty forgiving.

1 whole egg (use the freshest you can get – from the store probably isn’t a good idea)

2 egg yolks

1 t. mustard (whatever you have on hand)

1 T. fresh lemon juice (I used white vinegar as I didn’t have lemons)

1/2 t. salt(Hubby said it needed a little more)

a big pinch of freshly ground white pepper (I left this out)

up to 2 cups of vegetable oil or light olive oil (I use light olive oil for mild taste)

Put egg, yolks, mustard, lemon juice, salt, and pepper in your blender. Blend about 10 seconds until creamy. With the blender running continuously SLOWLY drizzle in oil. Stop pouring in every few seconds to make sure that it is blending in.If you add too quickly it will break the emulsion although I’ve never had this happen.

2 thoughts on “Making Mayonnaise

  1. Gina says:

    I really need to try this! I made one attempt at homemade mayo that failed and haven’t worked the courage up again!
    Gina

    • It’s really not very hard and once you get it you’ll NEVER go back to store mayo! Do you have your own chickens? Fresh eggs are best and I would never make it using store eggs. But it’s really very forgiving. I used to think I had to follow the recipe exactly but I think the real trick is in how slowly you add the oil. Sure hope it works for you.

Leave a Reply

