Too many roosters!

We schooled this morning and then spent the afternoon butchering a bunch of extra roosters we’ve been feeding all winter. We should have butchered them months ago. We’ve been eating venison and pork for months and it’s time for a change! Most of the meat will be canned but we’re cooking two of them for supper tomorrow. Yum!

I really need to bake bread but other things seem to have priority at this time. Michael is picking up bread for a quick meal of sandwiches, carrot sticks, and maybe fruit. Fresh milk, of course! I’m tired and still have one more to butcher for tomorrow’s meal.That makes a grand total of ten. It sure feels good to get it done but we still have at least six or eight to go. Another day!

I also would like to get a row of potatoes in this evening but I’m running out of time. The weather will be nice again tomorrow so I guess they’ll wait another day.

Time to go find a child to peel carrots!

2 thoughts on “Too many roosters!

  1. Granny Eklund says:

    I have been following you on my computer…our son and his wife live a similar life…trying to get back to basics…how do I get in touch wit you? What do I do to get on your mailing list? I pray for you and your family everyday…GRANNY

    • Hi Granny. You can always get in touch with me through this blog. If you want to receive updates when I post there’s a button up next to this homestead life that says Follow. Just click on it. Thank you for your prayers for our family. God bless you!

Leave a Reply

